Ski & Snowboard Australia - School Award Applications close March 16

There are two award categories at the Annual Ski & Snowboard Australia Awards that are open to schools nominating; Outstanding Achievement of the Year for Small Schools and School of the Year

From this year, the nomination criteria has an emphasis on growth of a schools program. Schools that are able to show growth in their snowsports program, will be looked upon favourably. 


Outstanding Achievement of the Year for Small Schools

An award to highlight a single outstanding or unique schools snowsports activity program. Applicants are encouraged to provide evidence of any singular school snowsports program that develops and grows junior snowsports athlete participation at the school level

Small Schools are classified by:

  • Secondary Schools who have entered 24 or less competitors

  • Primary Schools who have entered 9 or less competitors


School of the Year

An award to highlight the contribution of a School Snowsports Program. Applicants are encouraged to provide information about their School based on the following criteria:

  • Growth and participation levels having regard to the overall size of the school.

  • Athlete participation & performance from school through to elite level – support for SSA programmes,

    events and activities – contribution to the pathway of an elite performance.

  • Athlete education, including safety, fitness, skills and dry-land training activities.

  • Variety of discipline exposure offered by the school club to snowsports athletes – evidence of introducing

    new participants to snowsports.

  • Recognition of snowsports and athletes by the School and Club.

  • Regards will be given to the improvement by the school and club across the above criteria from the previous year.


Application Forms


Nominations are to be judged by State Interschools Committees, with state winners put forward to Ski and Snowboard Australia for final judging and ratification. The Ski & Snowboard Australia Awards will be held on Thursday May 3 in Melbourne. 

Previous National Award winners are excluded from applying for a period of 2 years after winning the award (this has previously been 3 years).

2016 Winners

  • School of the Year - Snowy Mountains Grammar and St Catherines (Vic)
  • Outstanding Achievement of the Year for Small Schools - Rossbourne School (Vic)

2015 Winners

  • School of the Year - Jindabyne Central School
  • Outstanding Achievement of the Year for Small Schools - Wenona