2018 Amelia McGuiness Australian Snowsports Development Foundation Scholarships

The Amelia McGuiness Australian Snowsports Development Foundation (AMASDF) is recognised and commended throughout the snowsports community for its contribution and support of up-and-coming athletes. In the 9 years since the Foundation was established in honour of Amelia McGuiness, a gifted and talented athlete and student, the committee has awarded $194,860.00 in Snowsports Scholarships. This has been achieved through the ongoing support of individuals and the business community.

Our committee id dedicated to identifying athletes that have the required attributes to achieve success as an elite athlete in this highly competitive sport. These decisions are made with the advice and support of SSA Northern Discipline Committees, head coaches and Olympians. These groups have firsthand experience and understanding of the determination, dedication and sacrifices required for a snowsports athlete traveling the pathway towards representing Australia.  

In our ninth year of operation, the AMASDF receieved over 50 applications requesting assistance from young athletes across NSW, ACT and QLD.

In determining the grant recipients for 2018, the committee reflected upon the individual's performance levels; the potential for achievement over the next 12 months; and the quality of the application. We identified the athletes deserving our assistance through their record of achievement, dedication to their chosen discipline, and commitment to their overall development. 

Overall, the AMASDF have allocated $5,500 to 10 Alpine athletes; $2,450 to 7 Snowboard and Para-Athletes, $2,450 to 7 Freestyle athletes, and $2,500 to 5 Cross Country athletes. In total, AMASDF awarded $12,900 to 30 athletes.

The AMASDF would like to thank all those who participated in the Amelia events, donated to the foundation, and volunteered.

The 2018 Scholarship Holders are:

Abbey Davis / Abi Harrigan / Adele Selig / Alize Steggall / Amber Essex / Benjamin Wynn / Bentley Walker-Broose / Bethani Townsend / Charlotte Mooney / Declan Burke / Dominique de Souza / Duncan Cowan / Emily Champion / Eve Dowley / Finn Sadler / George Murphy / Hugo Hinckfuss / Isabella Davis / Isla Castle / Jacqueline Davis / Joey Steggall / Letitia  Murphy / Lisa Hutchinson / Lottie Lodge / Mac Livissianos / Maya Billingham / Ocean Roberts / Tatiana Logan / Taylor-Lee Byrne / Zana Evans